Creepy Christmas Short Story Advent | A Wrong Gift

A Wrong Gift

(348 words)

It was a wrong gift.

It sat there, behind a couple of other presents, under the Christmas tree. Wrapped in simple red and gold striped wrapping paper. Waiting for us. Glaring at us.

‘Does it say who it’s for?’ Dad asked, sounding strained. But there was no name tag.

I looked at my parents, barely turning my head, not wanting to make any sudden movements. They looked scared. Lilly sat at Mom’s feet, sucking her thumb. No one told her to stop.

‘Maybe,’ I started, my voice strangely high in my ears, ‘it’s from Aunt Viv? She was here yesterday, right?’

‘Yes. I’ll call her,’ Mom said too quickly. I noticed her hands shaking a little as she took out her phone. Lilly crawled over and sat in front of me, staring intently at the gift. It stared back.

‘Hi Viv, did you leave a gift here yesterday?’ Mom tried to sound calm and failed. Aunt Viv’s voice chattered away obliviously through the speakerphone.

‘I did! Thought it would be a nice surprise. I got it at the market yesterday, from such a marvelous man. He had all sorts of wonderful things. Spoke with a beautiful foreign accent. He said they would make perfect Christmas gifts so I bought a few. He was so nice. Had such bright blue eyes.’

‘Who’s it for? There’s no tag.’

A long pause. In the silence I could feel the gift laughing at us.

‘Oh, dear. That’s odd. I don’t remember,’ Aunt Viv hesitated, ‘For all of you, I suppose.’

Mom looked at Dad, worried. Dad frowned. None of us looked at the gift, but we could all feel it.

‘Viv,’ Mom said slowly, ‘what’s in it?’ A very long silence.

‘I’m- I’m not sure.’

Mom looked over at the Christmas tree, then went ashen. Dad yelled, ‘Lily, no!’

I swiveled around. There was Lilly, under the tree, holding the wrong gift in her small hands.

Dad and I lunged for her, but before we could stop her, Lilly had ripped the striped wrapping paper off the gift.

It took her first.

Leave a comment